Is Barefoot Running Therapeutic for you?

Barefootpuffin

Barefooters
Aug 22, 2011
Hey guys, I wanted to get your opinion on a the topic of my new blog post where I discuss the anecdotal evidence of my barefoot running experiences and how I believe that barefoot running has made me a much calmer person all around.

Does running barefoot or otherwise make you guys less stressed? What do you think? Let me know here or in the comments section at my blog: http://wp.me/1Bi7O

Thanks,

Aaron

Definately is a big stress

Definately is a big stress release. And since I'm fairly new to barefooting it forces me to only think about running. The rest of the world slips away over some chip seal. :)

Walking or running barefoot

Walking or running barefoot has accomplished a few things for me.

1. It has brought a new perspective on life and nature.

2. Some of the chronic joint pains in my ankles and back seem to be improving.

3. Gave my wife and I a shared interest.

4. My children think I'm cool and want to participate.

So it has been therapeutic physically, mentally and spiritually.

I can totally relate to #4,

I can totally relate to #4, Rich. Wish I could relate to #3. It would be nice to even have my hubby running again, although he never ran with me unless he was pushing the double jogger.

I always think I'll use "this" run to contemplate something on my mind, and I end up thinking very little about whatever it is I thought I had on my mind. But by the time my run is done, that whatever seems smaller.

There is this, I usually feel

There is this, I usually feel much better after I get out on some rough ground or gravel.

foot_chart_small.jpg

I know barefoot running has

I know barefoot running has been very good for me, and that is much more evident to me no that I have to nurse this knee. Furthermore, I never believed that about running before shedding the shoes.

My wife has always been into