timing chips

dirtdemon77

Barefooters
Apr 4, 2010
The road race season is warming up here in the great white north, and I've got a new problem...well, new to me as this is my first time racing BF. What do I do with those damn timing chips now that I don't have shoe laces to strap them too? I always hated doing that anyway. Thought about duct taping it to my ankle, but then I'd have to shave my legs first. Any suggestions?

I use a small dog collar. 

I use a small dog collar. It's perfect and can accomodate many different types of timing devices. The latch is pefect for putting on and taking off too.

There is one type of chip

There is one type of chip that supposedly needs to be horizontal in order to work. Someone fashioned a sole-less sandal with a shoe string so that the chip laid on the top of the the foot. I wish I could remember who did that-- they took a picture and everything.

It was Barefoot Angie,

It was Barefoot Angie, a.k.a., Hoop, Hoopatka. She will be heading up the Iowa Chapter when we go live. Very smart what she did with those laces. Others reported their time not showing up because they had attached the timing chip the wrong way.

I pin it to the bottom of my

I pin it to the bottom of my long tights, but I have missed out on some times because of it. Missed the final time at the OBX half (fortunately the finish photo showed I did finish) and missed the 13.1 mile split at the Shamrock Marathon. Did fine at the Wicked 10K though. I keep meaning to get an ankle strap, but haven't gotten around to it. Maybe now that they are going to bib tags the whole issue will blow over soon :party:

Did the race officials let

Did the race officials let you enter that time, Wendy, the one with the photo finish?

I contacted them when I