R & R

How often do folks take a break from running to let the body do a full repair rather than just an overnight job. The reason for my question is as follows.
I've been running 50km+/week for the last 6 months, now that we are into Spring in the southern hemisphere I am stepping up my weekly distance and have been doing 60km+/week. My soles are getting more tender and I can only put it down to the extra distance and not enough time to recover.
I know all about the 10% rule as I've been doing this a while. I'm wondering also if it is a combination of the distance and speed, I've been using the 90/10 ratio of aerobic to anaerobic, so as my distance increases I also run harder for periods on both sand and concrete, maybe the extra friction is the cause of skin on the soles wearing down too much.
Has anyone else had this problem, even after years of barefoot running?
It must be great to do a long distance barefoot run across the USA like Rea Ainslee, but how do her feet hold up to all those miles on the road.

My rule of thumb is to rest if I feel uncomfortable!
My feet have "suggested" that I ease up for a day or two a couple of times as I transition from shod to skin at the end of winter for the last couple of years - a couple of days rest seems to benefit me all round.
As I start up again I make sure to take it easy and concentrate on lifting my feet. Most of my running is aerobic and a 50/50 mix of concrete and asphalt.

I try to keep my regular load lighter than most folks, running only every other day and not worrying if my schedule gets tangled and I end up with 2 days in a row off. Having said that, I see the intensity cycling around my racing rather than my milage. I've got 3 races on my schedule in the next 5 weeks, which is heavy for me. I might get a couple more races in before the end of the season, but I'll just play that by ear. I try to keep my running to a level where it recharges me rather than wears me out.

Hi Chris,