Muscle build up

chrisdonkey

Barefooters
Aug 26, 2011
Well Folks,

Any advice on exercises barefoot running novices should try in order to build up the correct muscles?

Are is it best just running?

Thanks!

I'm not an expert but for a

I'm not an expert but for a while I prefered to stick to running. I would have been afraid to work the wrong muscle, create imbalance and end up with an injury.

Recently I started some short exercices to try to get rid of IT band problem and others to work on a runnign form closer to Pose running. It's maybe 10 min a day without weight so I feel pretty safe.

If you're new to running barefoot I think just running is safer. It doesn't take long to build those muscles and if you run properly you don't use too much energy/muscle power anyway.

Good luck!

I'd add that in addition to

I'd add that in addition to running, being barefoot during your daily activities will go a long way to strengthening the necessary muscles for barefoot running. I do everything I can barefoot or in minimal shoes. I credit that to my quick transition.

I especially recommend barefoot walking.

Michael Sandler's book has

Michael Sandler's book has some good exercises in it. Here's a link. Stuff like scrunching up a towel with only your toes. Picking up small objects (this works great if you have small children by the way). Of course, just going barefoot as much as possible. There are some other exercises that I can't think of right now. It's a good book.

Jimmy gave us some good ones

Jimmy gave us some good ones at the clinic last weekend.

1) Calf raises in various positions, straight, toes in, toes out.

2) towel pull: Put a towel on the ground, step on the end of it and curl your toes under, dragging the towel under your foot and repeat. Works the arch, toes, etc.

3) towel pick up: This time, pick up the towel with your toes and lift it up and drop it.

I'm not sure on how many repetitions...