New guy in Georgia

AMCJeff

Barefooters
Sep 4, 2011
Hi

I guess I'm much more of a walker than a runner these days, but I've been a runner in the past and I'm trying to get back into it after a period of letting myself go a bit.

I've always hated wearing shoes, but I do it when it's absolutely necessary. Otherwise I'm barefoot. I drive to work, put the shoes on before I go in, and they're the first thing off when I leave in the afternoons. I'm *always* barefoot at home, up to and including doing all my yardwork including mowing grass, weedeating, etc. I usually keep some flip-flops handy in my car for going into stores and restaurants where bare feet are looked at with a jaundiced eye.

I'm a car hobbyist as well, so I'm frequently barefoot in my friend's shop while working on the cars, and I sometimes pick up shrapnel from the drill press but my sole pads are thick enough it's not usually a problem--sometimes have to break out the X-acto knife to remove some of it..

I'm easing back into doing some running. There's a local park that I've begun doing some walking/conditioning and yesterday I actually did some running. No problems with the bare feet while running, but I've got to build back up to the aerobic capacity to do it for longer than a mile.

Anyway, just thought I'd join up here with some like-minded people and see what's going on.

Jeff

Auburn, GA

Welcome! Yowsers... I

Welcome! Yowsers... I wouldn't have though somebody could survive in a machining environment barefoot. I've picked up some real nasty stuff in my shoes before while walking through our shop... amazing.

Good to hear you're ready to get back into running. I know it's been a real pleasure for me once I got started. I never imagined I'd enjoy running but I did get hooked quickly.

Lots to read here. Hope you enjoy. Looking forward to 'seeing' you around the site.

Happy Running!

Hi Jeff, please join the