Foot Injury-Can Barely Walk...Any Ideas?

Gator

Barefooters
Oct 21, 2010
Unfortunately this is my first post and it's about an injury. Little bit about my barefoot running life...I've been training and running in VFF since 2007. From 2007 till July I ran very little BF. In July I start slowly integrating BFR into my training. I built up to 5-6 miles (I know not great but I did not want to get injured) by October. I completely dropped VFF from my run training. So fast forward...

Today I ran my first BF race. Just a short 5k. It was relatively cold here (38 F) and this was my first time BFR in "colder" weather (i feel foreshadowing sneaking up on me as I type this). I ran as normal without any pain or discomfort until about a mile from the finish. I began to feel a pain in my right foot. Mostly on top but also on the bottom. Well I had to finish the race of course but I had to change my stride and landing to accomplish this. As I finished, I slowly warmed down and began limping a little. An hour later I could "walk" but with a considerable amount of pain and a embarrassing limp. So below are my symptoms now...

-Pain from the top and bottom of foot which seems to start from the third metatarsal and continues up and around the third dorsal interosseous

-Pain Continues up entire metatarsal

-Can not put weight on it unless I gimp around on my outer sole which is still painful

-Very painful to attempt to flex my foot up/down

-Some swelling; mostly on top of foot

-Pain is present even without any weight bearing