First run with no shoes. What does the location of my hot spots mean about my form?

Jonny00GT

Chapter Presidents
May 19, 2011
I was REAAAAAALLY looking forward to running in the rain this morning! Supposed to rain all weekend, BUT I live in Texas, so...nuf said. The grass was still wet and there was the occasional puddle, I could tromp through. All in all, it was great! I ran about half of my 5K run without shoes and then threw on my VFFs. It wasn't till I put on the VFFs that I noticed the hotspots. I don't see any "missing skin", but at first I thought I'd gotten blisters, but then didn't see any. Both big toes and the blades of both feet starting at the bottom of the pinky toe knuckle and going back about 2in.

Am I doning something wrong, or that what has to get tough first???

Thanks guys!

So lovin the site!!!

-Jonny

It sounds like you are

It sounds like you are dragging a little bit on the ground. I am no expert but I am assuming you are still swinging a little bit with your stride. You will notice this a little more with the wet conditions because the soles of your feet are softened with the moisture which also creates a little more friction (this is my opinion only from my experiences). On wet days your form is critical, to ensure you lift your feet and do not swing.

Dragging or pushing off. 

Dragging or pushing off. What he said. At least your wearage is even!

Oh, ok...that makes sense.  I

Oh, ok...that makes sense. I was trying not to "slide them down" on my landing or push off, or twist them and come straight down, but it takes a lot of concentration! I was surprised how different my form was compared to in my VFFs!! Nothing was tired or sore and it felt really good running this way! I can see why they recomend running barefoot first and minimalist after. Can't wait to run without holding my Vibrams!