Anyone have issues with patellar tendonitis?

Hey folks,

Anyone that has read my intro knows that I'm still fairly new to running barefoot. A problem I've had since jumping off very high heights (garage roof anyone?) as a youth, is patellar tendonitis. When I began running some tme ago with shoes fitted to me by Fleet Feet, I noticed that my knee was getting hammered and I would spend time icing my knee and downing ibuprofen Lindsay Lohan style. At times it would kill to descend stairs. in any case, my question is: has anybody dealt with this? If so, how? And also, did the barefoot running slove the problem over time? I've not run in about 5 days due to knee flare-up. Please advise.

Regards,

Liam

Can I move this thread to the

Can I move this thread to the Health & Injuries forum?

Yes, I have knee problems and

Yes, I have knee problems and barefoot running has helped tremendously. I abused my knees with 25 years of skiing, 15 years of running with bad form, and hard farm work. I am still working on my form, and for me, barefoot running is the only way. Still learning things every day and this forum has been a great resource.

I also recommend a healthy eating lifestyle and watching your weight. I have lost and kept off almost 50 pounds over the last 10 years.

Research, research, research. The latest article "Joint and Tissue Repair" is great. I take supplements, but might try doing without after reading the article. I have not taken any ibuprofen in over a year. If I have knee pain, I take some time off from running.

Of course if you think it is serious, go get it checked out.

Rick W.

Barefoot Liam wrote:Hey

Barefoot Liam said:
Hey folks,