Barefooters
Feb 16, 2012
Sudbury, MA
Anyone have any recipes they'd like to share? Parameters:

1.No "real" dairy
2.No egg yolks
3.No beef, pork, lamb, or veal
4.Easy/cheap (I'm a grad student)

Ideas that have eggs or dairy are OK, just need to be modifiable.

Homemade refried beans wrapped in corn tortillas. Lots of protein and fiber, some carbs from the tortilla, good hot or cold.

I use about 1 tbsp bacon fat, 4 cans of pinto beans, 1/2tbsp real butter (optional)

Drain the water from one of the cans, toss everything else in a pot and cook for about 15 minutes on a medium simmer. Mash up about 1/2-3/4 of the beans (in the pot) and continue cooking until you get to the desired thickness. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Not sure how readily available bacon fat is to someone who may not eat bacon. :) You could probably experiment with small quantities of smoked paprika and a little cumin to get the smokey flavor, and add the butter. I think the fat helps keep things smooth, so make sure to sub something else in if you omit the bacon fat.