Stretching..Who Does and Who Doesn't?

All this is pretty interesting discussion. I also find it interesting the perceptions on what stretching is. The nose to the kneecap stretch Wayne described seems way over kill to me, and is a type of stretching I can't and won't do. I've said before I do a "light" stretching session before and after a run and I have done this for as long as I can remember, except that brief period of time where I tried the sock docs no stretching thing and got injured. My stretching consists of 4-6 stretches as needed and I never stretch to where it is painful (the good pain as I've heard others describe it). I do very light and don't even touch my toes, which I could do but then I would be in that "good pain" zone. Maybe what I do some of you wouldn't even consider it stretching... Perceptions are a funny thing.

Some comments were made in another thread about stretching and I didn't want to take that thread off topic. I've been running for 38 years, 13 marathons and 8 ultras. I started stretching when I started running in 1975 after reading George Sheehan's first book on running. Over the years I have been inconsistent in stretching. I probably haven't stretched regularly for 15 years. I am only aware of one scientific research study on stretching and it was inconclusive on whether stretching improved performance or prevented injury.

So please enlighten me on any studies you might be aware of that show stretching to be a beneficial practice. I am not interested in anecdotal testimonies as I'm sure there are thousands of those out there, but rather controlled scientific studies. Thanks!

If you still have questions about this - I haven't read all the replies yet - try the book: "The First 20 Minutes" by Gretchen Reynolds. She has another book with a similar title so make sure you look at the right one. (I haven't had a chance to read the second, more recent book.)