Cincinnati Flying Pig 5/2015

boonepharm

Barefooters
Jul 13, 2014
Cleveland
Wow. I'm really hoping this is my worst race ever. I've been training really hard (50-60) miles per week and reading up on "the wall" so I wouldn't hit it this time like I did in the last few miles of the Princess Half in Feb. I'd read about the pig and how fun it was, and that the hills were stepped and quite possible even for a beginner. I'm not a beginner, but it's nice and flat here. I drove down Saturday afternoon from Cleveland to Cinci and stayed with my brother and sister-in-law. I had a great time playing with my nephew. He has the best train set EVER!

I had a good night sleep, but I woke up feeling kinda blah. Not my usual race morning excited jitters. Frankly I felt like pretending my alarm didn't go off and skipping it. But no, I had planned and trained and driven 4 hours to get here. I was not going to let it go.

Parking stinks in Cincinnati, but at 5am in the morning it's torture. They close a lot of roads for the race which makes it even more difficult. I did finally get parked and walk my way down. It's a good thing that there is a trail of people all headed in the same direction or I would have had no idea where to go. And heads up, they do not have enough porta-potties. The lines were awful. If you need to use one, be prepared for quite the wait. Or just wait until the corrals start to get released and as you get near the front there will only be 2-3 people waiting. But remember to bring some napkins or something. They were completely out of toiled paper (blech).