warming up takes forever

stomper

I've been running barefoot on and off for several years now, and have made big advances in my enjoyment and skill with running.

But one thing has not changed in all that time: it seems to take forever for me to warm up and really get loose and comfortable. It's like 20 or 25 minutes of sluggishness and miscellaneous crankiness before I really am loosened up and running with maximum ease and involvement, and in terms of speed, am up out of my "first gear" and into second or third.

I've tried lots of things to warm up... calisthenics, tai chi, stretching. Nothing short of a full workout seems to get the sluggishness out and get me ready for ... the workout.

It's kind of a problem because I can't take hours and hours each day to run. And on a shorter racing event like a 5K it's absurd because I'm nearly done by the time I feel like I'm ready to start.

Any tips for warming up faster? Note: FWIW I am a generally active person. Don't have a car. Do some martial arts. Etc.

I have the same problem.  In

I have the same problem. In fact, I have calculated that my warmup time is almost three miles exactly. That's how long it takes for me to feel warmed up and ready to run. I used to add a 1-3 mile warmup onto the front of my runs, but I stopped because it was sucking too much time out of the rest of my day.