Training Advice

James7

Barefooters
Aug 5, 2011
Hi,
I've been running for quite a few years and eventually ran my first Marathon at London in 2010 with a sub 4. I then lost interest in running, perhaps i had reached my goal, but last year rediscovered my enthusiasm through bf/minimal.
Currently i'm up to 4 miles bf at around 9 m/m and generally run once a week. I've signed up for a 10k in Dec and would like to get back to sub 50 min if poss.
How would you advise to proceed without risking injury running 3 x per week? I also have Lunas which I use occasionally.
Thanks in advance.

giving up on goals for racing right now will help with keeping you injury free. don't worry about racing. it will come. there's always anther one. just learn how to run first and run light, easy, and smooth. speed and distance will come much easier if you get the first part down.

I've stolen that quote, too, Mike. It's still good advice. James, if you really want to tempt the running gods, you go all gung ho for that 10K. If you want to just go for a nice run at that distance, taking your time and smelling the roses (or the chip shops along the route) that would probably work out just fine for you. Remember, at your stage of this BF running game, speed kills!

Thanks for the advice i'll go with that. What's the safest way to up my milage from currently 4 per week in 1 run?
Cheers.

Some things to consider that may help keep your feet healthy, and make them stronger:

• Start a program of deep-tissue foot (self) massage and stretching - a LOT of this stuff
  • Walk barefoot every chance you get (create chances when none appear on their own), and walk on rough stuff
  • Don't run on high-risk terrain, meaning where you could get a nasty bruise or puncture (walk instead)