Top of Foot Pain

Barefoot Terry

Chapter Presidents
Apr 3, 2010
Ok, I've been running BF for 4 months now. Just about 50 total miles. I had to take a couple weeks off due to TOFP in my first month. Then out of the blue last week, got the TOFP again. Anyone have a suggestion to ease the pain. Last time I had to take 2 weeks off. I've got a half marathon in about 5 weeks and need to get in some more miles and time on my feet. Of course, my health comes first before a race, but I want to run this race!!! HELP!

Does ice help, Terry?  Ken

Does ice help, Terry? Ken Bob has a great write-up about this. I will try to find the link and post it back here.

This is copied from KB's

This is copied from KB's site. (I hope this helps.) He has made this addendum:
I've revised the post since it's originally posting, as I discovered the exercises aren't needed. And some people (particularly ex-marines) we're trying to overdo, the gentle lifting of small weights, by increasing the weight, or trying to pull their entire body weight across their mattress when pressing "gently" against the edge of their mattress with the top of their foot.

Anyway, we can simply do the same exercise while running, that is, lift up the fore-foot, exercising the top of the foot, which is actually better, because you get about a thousand very gentle fore-foot lifts each mile you run, and avoid the excess strain of pushing off with the trailing foot (it's really difficult to push off while lifting the fore-foot), instead of trying to do the fore-foot lifts in a separate workout.

Pain in the top of the Foot
Many of us have experienced pain on the top of the foot – sometimes following a distinct “snap” sound during push-off (or in my case, when I once kicked a sand hill).