Timing Chip Question. Please Help

Vendoskt

Barefooters
Mar 13, 2011
Michigan
I am running the Chicago Half Marathon on Sunday. Last week I bought a small dog collar to put around my ankle so that I can attach the timing chip. This will be the first race I have ever been in, so I have no experience running with a dog collar around my ankle, or with timing chips. I have been wearing the dog collar on my recent training runs. The first run was fine, I put it on my left ankle. My second run with the dog collar was suppose to be a half marathon. I wore the dog collar on my left ankle again. About 5 miles in, my achilles started hurting A LOT on the ankle I had the dog collar on. I switched ankles, but I could not run home. I would run about half mile, limp another quarter of a mile, then walk a quarter of a mile, then repeat. The pain in my left achilles went away pretty quickly, so I did another try at the half marathon training run. I wore the dog collar on my right ankle this time. The run went fine, no pain at all in either ankle. Today I went on my final training run (5 miles). I wore the dog collar on my right ankle again. I did the entire run with no problem, but when I got home, I noticed that my right achilles is a little sore. Since my run was only 5 miles, I do not know if I would have had the same terrible pain in my achilles if I had to run any farther.

The race is on Sunday, and I am getting really worried about having to wear this dog collar. Unfortunately, I need to rest between now and the race, so I can't go on any more training runs and test out any new strategies. What is everyones strategy for wearing timing chips. Also, especially for those that use dog collars, how do you attach them. I don't want to make it too tight, but I still seem to get this pain if I have it loose as well. What should I do? PLEASE HELP

I never used my dog collar on