Soreness on 'inside' of knee

Larry

Barefooters
Sep 13, 2012
Hey docs,

I thought I would post this up to see if it rings any bells.

Background: I've been running for a little over six months now alternating between barefoot and shod, in 4mm drop running flats. Generally, I do my longer runs in shoes. I've built the distance up very slowly to the point where I'm running 5-6km BF and 6-10km in shoes without any problems.

Last weekend, I ran a slow 7.5km in shoes on Saturday, and then on Sunday I did a long slow run of 12km. It was my longest run yet, but only 500m more than my previous longest run. In the last km of the run, my knee started aching a little. I let it rest for a few days until I couldn't feel it, and then went for a short barefoot run on Wednesday morning. After 2.5km or so, the ache came back. I was able to run the rest of the way home without things getting any worse.

The pain is hard to pinpoint, but it is on the 'inside' side of the knee, nowhere else. It's not extreme - just an ache, but I'm wary of pushing it further. There's no swelling as far as I can see, and it doesn't seem to bother me at all unless I'm running. On the Wednesday after my run, it was OK walking along flat ground, but it did hurt quite a bit walking up the stairs to the office. On subsequent days, the stairs were OK. The only other way I've found it to flare up is when I'm driving - if I lift my leg and move the foot towards the other foot it can be painful, but that has now settled down too.

Lastly, I've been playing golf weekly. I noticed it slightly a couple of times yesterday on the golf course when swinging, so I'm not sure if that is contributing to it. I tend to plant my weight onto that leg when hitting the golf ball, so that could be a factor.

I'm taking a week off running to see what happens - in the meantime, any suggestions?

Cheers!

A couple of possibilities come to mind