Shoes for when you have to wear shoes

Agnesd

Barefooters
Jan 24, 2012
Lake Stevens, WA
I recently started running in minimalist shoes and was sold on wearing them for everything, but I am still searching for something to wear to work that will last. I am a nurse and work 12 hour shifts, sometimes spending the whole time on my feet on concrete floors. I have been wearing my Vivobarefoot Ultras to work and my feet have been doing great, but the sole is already worn out (the heel has lost the little "tread" the shoe has) and also the shoe has holes all over it (not good when you deal with body fluids daily).

Are there any other nurses or medical people out there? Or even anyone that spends that much time standing? Any suggestions for comfortable minimalist shoes that last?

Sketchers Shape-ups of

Sketchers Shape-ups of course. All the cool nurses are weasring them.
steve.png

In your case, and I might get

In your case, and I might get run out of here for even suggesting it, you might need a little cushioning. I recently did two days in a row at Disneyland with the family. I wore huaraches and my feet were killing me.

Not a minimalist shoe, but the Altra Instinct (zero drop and wide toebox at least) and Merrell has a shoe in their Barefoot line that has cushioning. http://www.merrell.com/US/en-US/Product.mvc.aspx/26419W/61054/Smoke/J89762?dimensions=0

Rick W.

Rick, I don't know why anyone

Rick, I don't know why anyone would give you flak for suggesting the Altra Instinct. That is a great shoe that is shaped more human like and is zero drop as well. the Merrells on the other hand I'm not to familiar with but in the link you provided the sole does not look like a human foot at all and may be uncomfortable and squish the midfoot region of the foot. Looks like in the midfoot the sole goes in, not just on the higher arch side but on the outside edge as well. Who's feet do that??? Mine just get steadily narrower all the way till you get to the heel.