Running Frequency

Kudzu80

Barefooters
Apr 3, 2010
I'm not new to running, but what I am new to is enjoying it and actually getting benefit out of it. Before BFR/VFF it was a, make myself do it/endure the pain/try and see if I can stick with it this time, thing.

I'm wondering what everyone else thinks about how often a person should run. Everyday? Every other day? Light run one day, heavy run the next? Or is it just a listen to your body/do what feels right thing?

I don't want to hurt myself, but I want to improve as much and as quickly as possible. My only physical training was in the Army and it was always bigger, better, faster, harder, suck it up cry-baby, training. I'm certain that this is not the appropriate approach.

Thoughts?

I would run everyday if I

I would run everyday if I had time but work/family etc keep me from that so I get in whatever I can anywhere from 3 - 7 days depending. If your new to barefoot running I think its easier on your body to run less distance per run and more often than less often and more distance per run, thats what I prefer anyway. This is something with no right answer its whatever you figure out for yourself just take it slow and easy with a gradual buildup when your first ramping up.

Right now I am struggling to

Right now I am struggling to get at least 3 runs in a week - work and family take up most of my time. When I first started out, I was a little too gung-ho and ended up with a 2 week hiatus due to TOFP. So, depending on how long you've been running barefoot/minimalist I'd say be more cautious in the beginning and then increase your distance gradually. Let your body (mainly your feet) tell you what is enough. The issue I had was that I felt great, but my feet were not strong enough for the distances my body wanted to run. I feel like I have so much more energy when I'm running barefoot than I ever had running with shoes.