Mothers Day Classic - Geelong

Mothers Day Classic - Geelong
By Larry

The Mother's Day Classic is an 8km fun run in Geelong (and other locations in Australia on the same day) to raise money for breast cancer research. I've been doing it for a few years now, and this year I decided to run it barefoot for the first time.

My preparation was typically slipshod. I left it until the last possible minute to organise a silly running costume, and ended up buying a pink 'onesie' that I thought would fit - until I tried it on and found that it was a little tight and I looked like I was trying to emphasise certain body parts that are best left to the imagination. Hello boys! My wife thankfully vetoed that idea, and suggested that I try on a pair of her pink flannelette pyjamas. They fit me well enough thanks to her penchant for roomy potato sack couture, and I was on my way.

Next on the agenda was a trip to the local op shop to buy some material and sew up a long conical pom pom nightcap to match. In true last minute spirit, I was still sewing like the wind at 1:30AM on the morning of the run, but I still managed to make it out of bed in time for the 6:30 drive to Geelong.

Disaster almost struck as I jogged to the registration tent to pick up my number and rolled my ankle on the edge of a path. I'm blaming the shoes. I thought I was gone for a moment, but the pain settled down quickly and I ran off to get changed into my pyjamas - and out of my shoes.

The start was a typical packed affair, and I found myself a long way back because I'm not the pushy type and the vast majority of runners were women - outnumbered by almost 4 to 1. I threaded my way through the crowd for the first 500m or so, which was actually quite a lot of fun. Lots of comments and laughter in the background. My plan was to run the first 2km at a fairly brisk pace, as the middle section of the run was going to be on nasty rough roads.