Product Review

Barefooters
Apr 3, 2012
Reviewed by: Mattlock
Date Product Reviewed: 01/01/2012
Product Type: Footwear

2012-04-07_140505.png

Background
Before “embarking” on my first shoe review of the Merrell Embark Glove GORE-TEX, I’d like to provide a little background on myself. Everything in life is relative so a little perspective on my “world-view” with regards to things running is key for any review to be meaningful to the reader.
I have been running for 3 years. I am 45 years old, 6’0 and weigh 163lbs. I’ve run 2 marathons and now training for my first ultra, a 50k in Jan, 2012. I’ve been running barefoot/minimalist for 2 of the 3 years. When not barefoot, I run mostly in Zemgear 360s (2.5oz) and Altra Adams (< 5.0 oz) so I’m pretty used to very light footwear and definitely zero drop construction. I consider myself very sensitive to heel build-up. My foot size is 11.5 with a D width.
Up until very recently, I have not been running on very technical trails except for a few instances and then I wore Merrell Trail Gloves which I absolutely love as a mild trail shoe and all around casual wear.

Shoe Specs (from the Merrell Website)

UPPER / LINING
• Synthetic leather and mesh upper
• GORE-TEX® Performance Comfort footwear lining protects feet and keeps them dry
• Merrell Omni-Fit™ lacing System provides a precise, glove-like fit
• Microfiber footbed treated with Aegis® antimicrobial solution resists odor
• 4 mm compression molded EVA midsole cushions
• GORE-TEX® Performance Comfort footwear lining protects feet and keeps them dry

MIDSOLE / OUTSOLE
• 1 mm forefoot shock absorption plate maintains forefoot flexibility and protects the foot by distributing pressure
• 0mm ball to heel drop keeps you connected to your terrain
• Vibram® Trail glove Sole/Rubber Compound TC-1
Men’s Weight: 9.2 ozs (1/2 pair)

Shoe Usage