Massage therapy?

Tristan

Barefooters
Sep 15, 2011
Ohio
So doing some self massage has really worked wonders, even better when my wife does it. But since it feels like its working I wonder if it would be even more beneficial to take it to the pro level? With my upcoming marathon I was thinking I'm going to be pretty sore afterward and would probably benefit from a good sports massage. I've never done a massage session before though. Does it make any difference when? Like next day? Or ok to wait 2 or 3 days? Some people have mentioned one before as well, or as a regular part of my training periodically to help get the things that slip by the self treatment. But if before, how long before? I assume youd want it a little more in advance, like early in the week for a weekend race?

And if you pay for an hour, for example, are you supposed to also tip? Outside of restaurants, I really don't know when your suppose to tip. Hope this isnt to personal or embarrassing to talk about but are you suppose to shower first? Are there showers usually there? I checkout out the website of the place thats along my drive home, even read their faqs but it wasnt mentioned. After work (presumably when I'd be getting the massage) I'd be embarrassed of some foot odor and sweatiness - just wearing socks all day and hardly wearing shoes at all and my feet still tend to sweat a little. But I live so far out from the city I don't want to drive home first and back.

Showers are uncommon, unless you go to a fancy spa that has a locker room, steam room, etc. They give you a few minutes to change. So, if you bring some body wipes, you'll have some time to freshen up.

Tips vary. Spas will often include a gratuity, such as 15% in addition to a $200/hr massage. If you go to a discount place, such as Massage Envy, where the massages are $69/hr, then 15% is too little, and one should tip $20-30.