I can do this race, right? Help!

SillyC

Barefooters
May 19, 2010
So, I've got the form printed out and filled out, the check written, and the envelope addressed... but I'm getting cold feet about putting it in the box. I can totally do this, though, right?

http://www.gaconline.net/scmain.html

I'm thinking about doing the trail marathon. I've never done a marathon before, but I looked at a few marathon training plans, and I'm ahead of schedule with the long runs just because I like long runs. My weekly mileage is slightly below, but I've been training for triathlons. My last triathlon of the season is in 8 days, so I'll be back to running 6 days a week rather than just 4 very soon.

I did a trail race in May and the huaraches worked out well, so I guess I'l just wear those.

Given that there are only 2 aid stations (totalling 4, because there's a 12 mile loop), with I think an 8-9 mile gap between the second aid station and the first / third on the loop, I'll likely have to carry water, right?

I have to wear a light at the start, but that's cool. I've got like 50 headlamps.

SillyC--I'm definitely not an

SillyC--I'm definitely not an expert, but it sure sounds to me like you are already training for it without even realizing it!! I'd say make sure you get lots of trail running in between now and then, but...I hope you do it and let us know how it goes! :) Good luck!

it's summer...how do you

it's summer...how do you have cold feet? i agree with you and beth...you're good to go if you're on pace with your training already so jump in there already. yes carry water because those are some seriously spaced out aid stations but other than that i think you'll be fine.

be mindful of the fast that a trail marathon can be much more difficult than a road race of any kind so you need to make sure you're good for trails but outside of that, miles are miles.

Thanks Beth and

Thanks Beth and JimmyHart!