Huaraches

Matt M.

Barefooters
Aug 19, 2010
I am a novice barefoot runner, and I've only been trying to do it for about 5 months. Right now I'm not running, as I have a small injury probably from TMTS. I am usually on our high school cross country and track team, but I couldn't do cross country because of the whole barefoot thing being so new, and an old nagging injury.

Basically, I wanted to be able to do track and cross country barefoot. But I'm starting to realize that it's pretty much impossible. We run several miles each day, and we do interval workouts ranging from 200's to mile repeats. Not possible to do completely barefoot. I have heard about huaraches, but never thought about using them. I remember in the book Born to Run the Tarahumara made them from old tires, if I'm not mistaken. I've been trying to think of the best type of (minimal) footwear I could use for my situation, and lately I've been wondering if huaraches are the answer.

But the whole thing about huaraches is a bit confusing to me. I have tried reading about them on this site and others, but the information is hard to get answers from. I thought maybe I should ask you guys.

Would I be able to make/use huaraches? What material do you use to make them? As I said earlier, I thought the Tarahumara used old tires. Tires sound the best to me, and I hear the bias-ply is the best type. Materials for me are pretty limited, but surely someone can tell me where I could get those type of tires? Or should I use a different material?

I would really appreciate your help, I'm kind of lost on this whole thing. Thanks!

What's your current distance

What's your current distance Matt? Do you have a good base of muscle/foot strength built up to withstand even running in a huarache? When will you be heading out on your longer runs? Is it the distance or speed you are worried about not being able to tackle?