Help with shoe choice (and hello!)

chickpastor

Barefooters
Apr 19, 2010
Hi y'all,I don't get to post much but am trying to keep up with this growing forum! I've been running for 10 years, and one year barefoot including one half marathon and am training for a Nov. marathon. Here's my deal....I made a stupid mistake. My beloved classics got a hole in the bottom after a year of use, and I got excited and bought some @#$% Bikilas. I hate them. Too much shoe, they irritate my Morton's, etc. Trying to sell them on a couple sites. Anyway, I keep hearing stuff about Vibram's quality control being crappy in general these days and am just not sure what to do. I love the huraches (sp?) from BF Ted and am tempted, but then I don't want to mess up a good thing by getting something other than Classics since they worked for me. I could get both, but not at the same time....finances and all that, so it's one or the other first. Any thoughts? I run barefoot for training for a lot of my shorter runs and long runs I wear my Classics with the hole, but it's starting to blister where the hole is, ouch. So mama needs some new barefoot shoes. Thanks for any thoughts.....hope to catch up with the atl runners again at some point!--CP

There are ways to repair

There are ways to repair holes in the vffs. i like some stuff called plasti dip. beyond that i say get another pair of classics if they work for you. yes vibram has had some quality issues but i have yet to purchase a pair that have problems of any kind and my closet if pretty full. if you're buying them in person it's really easy to look at things like sole thickness, straight seams, etc. if you're ordering i've heard of people having the seller take a look at the pair they are sending you and making sure your concerns are met before they ship.

if it aint broke dont fix it, especially in the middle of training. you like the classics. stick with the classics

Hi Chick!  I say the same