Genetics

Noonie

Barefooters
Jun 23, 2013
I'm wondering if my persisting injury/troubles are linked to the make up of my muscle structure and other human body stuff I don't understand, versus the regular form, running schedule, stretching, footwear (or lack there of), etc...usual causes. I'll try and explain below and would love to hear if anyone has had a similar experience

I've been running for about three years. Cycling for 10+. In cycling, I've never been injured. And I ride a lot, but also go through times of up/down total distance cycled in a week. I may average long rides of 50-60k, and then jump to 100+...still no injury. Similarly, I may right flat roads for weeks, and then do lots of climbing in a week...no injury.

With running, I've almost always had a "niggle" on my right side, in the lower calf area. Sometimes the niggle is also felt in my achilles or bottom of my foot. After doing some intense physio, mentioned below, I started running again...started at 15 minutes 3 x a week and got the same old issues as I approached the 25-30 minute mark many weeks later (after gradual progress). I'm careful and don't ever run so much that the sensation (pain) becomes anything more than 3 out of 10 on the hurt cycle. I could almost say I keep it to 1 out of 10.

When I look at both of my calf muscles, I notice that my left one looks longer than the right, and that it protrudes a bit more. This has been the case for years, as I noticed it with cycling. Again, never bothered me during cycling. Today when I came back from a hard ride I noticed that my left calf looked bulked up from the effort. On my right side there is a long, thin muscle that runs along the inside of my right leg, just below the calf, this was also bulked up (though much smaller than a calf muscle)...this goes away a little time after, but I've always noticed this.