Do I need a Garmin?

sloutre

Barefooters
Aug 7, 2010
I plan to train for a half marathon and maybe a marathon next year. Should I ask Santa for a Forerunner 305 or something like that?

I like to think that it's better to listen to my body than to focus on numbers but I have no experience training for longer distances. For my races next year I just want to finish, with no specific targeted time. Just finish and not get injured during training or during a race.

On one hand I'm attracted to gadgets, but on the other hand I need to be sure I'll get a lot of use out of something before I let that thing enter my house. I have enough clutter as it is.

Right now I have a heart rate monitor watch (http://www.amazon.com/Omron-HR-100C-Heart-Rate-Monitor/dp/B000A5CEUO), but I use only the watch so I can know how long I run, I don't wear the hrm anymore.

Can the wise and experienced barefoot runners of the BRS guide me?

If I don't ask for a Garmin I can always ask for a pair of minimal running shoes...but I hate shoes :-(

While I don't have any

While I don't have any experience with a Garmin watch, I regularly use the gps feature in my phone to track distances, I carry my phone anyway for safety. I think it's useful if I'm somewhere I haven't been before but when I'm running from home I don't need to track anything but time anymore, I already know how long my usual routes are. All in all, it's a nice gadget to have but it's far from crucial. For a half marathon, I'd just make sure I could run for two hours straight and get comfortable with running that long. If you can do that you'll do fine even if it takes a little longer than that to finish.

Sloutre, I used to have one