Beginner here...would love input on my training/transition!

C. Beth Run.

Barefooters
Jul 6, 2010
I'm still so new at this BF thing and would love input on what I'm doing to transition.

Before deciding to transition to BF running, I was running in shoes. I'd gotten up to about 17 miles per week.

My first BF run was Sunday 7/4, a week and a half ago. That week I ran barefoot a few times, usually for about 10-15 minutes. I felt pretty good. (I spend a lot of time barefoot at my house; I'm a stay-at-home mom.) One day I did overdo it with a little more time barefoot while I pushed my son on the stroller. Form was bad, and I had a sore muscle on the outside part of the ball of my foot for a few days. I did my long weekend run entirely shod.

This Tuesday I set my shoes on my porch and went out BF. I did my warm-up walk and then a very slow run. I never came back to put my shoes on--I just really felt so good barefoot! The running portion was about 2 miles. I was nervous going that far because I've heard how important it is to make this a gradual transition, but I just felt good so I kept going.

For a few hours after the run, my soles were sensitive, but by later in the day they felt normal again. So my soles handled it well!

What brought me home at the end of the run was that I was getting a little ache in the muscle at & above my ankle--actually between my ankle and my shin bone, if that makes sense. (Surely someone knows the technical term?) It wasn't going away as I ran, so I headed home. When I got up this morning, that muscle was sore, and it's been sore all day. It's not awful; it just feels like it's going to take a couple of days for it to feel normal again.

So am I pushing too hard? I'm not too concerned about that muscle; the same muscle on the other leg hurt last week after my first or second BF run, and it was fine after a couple of days. I think it must be one of those muscles that I just use differently running BF than I do with shoes on.